square was created in 1686 and its initial
name was square of the Conquests.
It was called place Louis le Grand
until the Revolution, place des Piques
until 1799 and then it was called place
It was initially frequented by big financiers
and it became, in the XIX century, a showcase
of the luxury and the prestige of Paris.
The column erected by Napoleon using the
bronze of the Austrian canons is dedicated
to the glory of the French soldiers.